Chairperson appointed to EPA Victoria Board

Chairperson appointed to EPA Victoria Board

In December, Cheryl Batagol was appointed Chairperson of the new Environment Protection Authority Victoria (EPA Victoria) Governing Board.

Ms Batagol has been Chair of the EPA, under the current governing structure, since 2009 and brings more than 40 years’ experience in waste management, water and environment sectors to the position.

Ms Batagol’s two-year appointment will take effect from 1 July 2018 when the new Governing Board commences and the new Environment Protection Act 2017 comes into effect.

The board will introduce five to nine members to oversee the authority and include people with a wide variety of skills.

The board will lead EPA Victoria through a period of transition and continue the work of the Victorian Government to implement its response to the Independent Inquiry into the EPA.

Recruitment for the remaining board members is currently underway, with more announcements to come this year.

The Victorian Government has invested $162.5 million over five years to reform and improve environment protection in the state.