New Environment, Climate Change Ministers sworn in

House of Representatives, Canberra

Tanya Plibersek has been sworn in as the new Minister for Environment and Water, while Chris Bowen is the new Minister for Climate Change and Energy.

Plibersek previously held the shadow education portfolio in opposition, but said she was looking forward to the challenges presented by the new role.

“Australia is lucky to be home to the most beautiful natural environments in the world, which we need to protect and preserve for future generations. Let’s get to work,” she wrote on Twitter.

Plibersek was elected to parliament in 1998 as Member for Sydney, a seat she has held since. She has also served as Minister for Health, Minister for Medical Research, Minister for Housing, Minister for Human Services, Minister for Social Inclusion, and Minister for the Status of Women.

She was Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party between 2013 and 2019, and has previously served as Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development, and Shadow Minister for Women.

Bowen, Federal Member for McMahon, continues with the portfolio he held in opposition as Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy.

“Giving Australia a climate change policy we can [be] proud of will be a signature reform of the Albanese Government,” he wrote on Twitter.

Since entering Parliament in 2004, Bowen has held a range of portfolios including stints as Treasurer, Immigration Minister, Minister for Human Services, and Minister for Small Business.

New South Wales Senator Jenny McAllister will serve as Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy.

For the full list of newly appointed ministers, visit:


Related stories:

Call for new ministerial role

Reaching net zero

Previous ArticleNext Article