Nominations open for 2023 WasteSorted Awards

wastesorted awards

Western Australia’s waste champions can now nominate for the 2023 WasteSorted Awards.

The annual awards celebrate outstanding achievements and innovative solutions to reduce, reuse and recycle waste.

This year, there are 10 categories with a new Closing the Loop Award to recognise initiatives that promote a circular economy.

Reece Whitby, Environment Minister, said the awards are an opportunity to acknowledge the hard work of the state’s waste warriors, while motivating others to reduce, reuse and recycle.

“We want Western Australians to continue exploring innovative ways to manage and reduce waste and share their success stories.

“The WasteSorted Awards not only celebrate our waste champions but inspire others to follow in their footsteps.”

The award categories include:

  • Community Waste Award
  • Schools Award
  • Business Award
  • Waste Champion Individual Award
  • Waste Champion Team Award
  • Metro Local Government/Regional Council Award
  • Regional Local Government/Regional Council Award
  • Community Engagement Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Closing the Loop Award

The awards are open to individuals, business and industry, government, schools, community organisations and not-for-profits.

The WasteSorted Awards is an initiative of the State Government of Western Australia and is co-ordinated by the Waste Authority WA.

 Nominations close 5pm on Friday 19 May 2023. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner awards ceremony in September to coincide with the Waste and Recycle Conference.

For more details or to apply, visit: 

Related stories:

More than $150K awarded in WasteSorted education grants

WasteSorted grants open




Send this to a friend