New Chairperson appointed at Sustainability Victoria

New Chairperson appointed at Sustainability Victoria

Johan Scheffer has been appointed as the new Chairperson of Sustainability Victoria for the next five years.

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio appointed Scheffer to the Board of Sustainability, following his previous experience in education, children’s services and as a member of the Victorian Parliament.

During his time as the Member for Eastern Melbourne, Scheffer worked with a range of stakeholders regarding environmental issues, such as forestry, water and the impacts of the coal industry.

Scheffer also has considerable legislative experience, including prior experience in program management and public administration.

The Sustainability Board aims to implement effective governance practices for responsible decision making, public sector values and the performance of strategies and outcomes.

The Sustainability Board meets seven times annually to discuss key industry issues and operations.

For more information regarding the Sustainability Victoria Board, visit:



Related stories: