Two new members appointed to APCO Board of Directors

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) has appointed its Board of Directors for 2021, welcoming industry leaders spanning the waste and recycling, packaging, food and beverage and sustainability sectors.

APCO is welcoming two new Board Directors for 2021 – Richard Smith, Amcor Safety, Quality and Sustainability Director and Kylie Freeland, McDonalds Australia Supply Chain and Sustainability Director.

Smith will take up the position of Industry Association Director for a term of three years, replacing Board Member Keith Chessell.

“I greatly appreciate the opportunity to join the APCO Board,” he said.

“It’s a privilege to contribute to the important work undertaken by APCO with all industry stakeholders to ensure the sustainability and circularity of packaging in Australia and the region.”

Freeland will take up the position of Brand Owner Director. 

“I feel privileged to be joining a leading team of Directors with a shared passion and experience for developing and implementing commercially responsible sustainable solutions,” she said. 

“I look forward to working with the Board to help make a genuine and positive difference across industries.”

Board Chair Sam Anderson said APCO is delighted to welcome a wealth and diversity of industry experience to the board.

“As we work towards the 2025 National Packaging Targets, our independent Board structure is so important as it provides APCO with a systemic view of the complete packaging chain and the challenges faced by stakeholders at each step of the process,” she said.

Anderson also thanked APCO outgoing Board Directors Jacky Nordsvan, Nestlé Head of Packaging Oceania, and Keith Chessell of the Australian Institute of Packaging.

“Jacky has been an invaluable contributor to our Board and a staunch supporter of APCO, generously sharing her vast knowledge and experience for the benefit of all APCO Members over the last six years,” she said.

“A huge thank you also to Keith Chessell – a committed and experienced packaging professional, it has been a delight to work with Keith on the APCO Board.

“Jacky and Keith are not lost to our APCO family and remain active contributors through working groups and committees.”

Nordsvan commented that it had been an honour and privilege to serve on the APCO Board and be part of the organisation’s transformation.

“A huge congratulations to the incoming Directors, I have no doubt you will support APCO and its Members in delivering the 2025 National Packaging Targets and beyond,” she said.

“It is definitely not farewell, as I will continue to support the APCO team and its Members in my role on the Technical Advisory Committee and working groups”.

Similarly, Chessell said it had been a privilege to represent the Australian Institute of Packaging as an Industry Association Director on the APCO Board over the last two years.

“My congratulation to the APCO Chair, Sam Andersen, the Board, and especially to Brooke Donnelly and the APCO team for the way they have been able to re-establish and develop APCO’s leadership with government and industry in focusing on the nation’s packaging environmental issues,” he said.

“I have personally enjoyed the relationships established with the Board members and appreciated learning from them the skills and practical knowledge in business strategy, vision, and wisdom in working with all levels of government and industry.”

The full 2021 Board includes Sam Andersen (Chair), Andrew Petersen, Richard Smith, Lee Smith, Anne Astin, Trent Bartlett, Jason Goode, Chris Foley and Kylie Freeland.

Related stories:

Previous ArticleNext Article