Waste Innovation and Recycling Award finalists announced

waste awards logo

The finalists for the 2023 Waste Innovation and Recycling Awards (WIRA) have been announced.

Congratulations to all the finalists. This year’s awards, which aim to recognise excellence across the waste and resource recovery sector, attracted a wealth of talented nominees.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner hosted by podcaster and comedian Veronica Milsom on October 23 at Aerial on South Wharf in Melbourne.

The finalists are:

Community Engagement Success of the Year – Sponsored by VISY

City of Canning – Canning transcending cultural boundaries
Bayside City Council – Love Bayside Don’t Waste It!
Maroondah City Council – FOGO success with an engaged community
Mackay Regional Council – Waste Education Communication for LLN

Innovation Award – Sponsored by Veolia

RMIT University – Coffee biochar for a stronger concrete
Transmutation Pty – Powder Coating Waste recycling
REMONDIS – Coffee pod processing at REMONDIS Tomago
Entyr Ltd – Entyr Thermal Conversion Process

Leader of the Year – sponsored by COG Advertising

Resource Hubb – Lacey Webb
Goterra – Olympia Yarger
REMONDIS – Chris Wade
Halve Waste – Andrea Baldwin

Operational Excellence Awards

Hanson – Hanson Landfill Services
City of Canning – Ranford WTS City of Canning
D & M Waste Management – D & M Waste Management

Outstanding Facility of the Year

BINGO Industries – Materials Processing Centre 2 (MPC2)
Repurpose It – Organics in Vessel Composting Facility
Downer EDI – Downer Sustainable Roads Resource Centre
ReSource Pty – ReSource Innovation Recycling Solutions
Enviropacific Services – Acetylene Cylinder Recycling Facility

Outstanding WARR Project: Metro

Contained Waste Solutions – Waste Transfer Safety Upgrade With LBin
City of Boroondara in partnership with City of Stonnington and City of Melbourne – Go Full Circle
Merri-bek City Council – Kerbside Waste Reform (KWR) Project
City of Adelaide – Rundle Mall Green Organics Trial

Outstanding WARR Project : Regional/Rural

Scenic Rim Regional Council – Disaster Waste Management Project
GNM Group – PFAS: Forever Chemical has an End Date
District Council of Mount Remarkable – Willowie Waste Transfer Station
Lockyer Valley Regional Council – Waste Reduction and Recycling Plan – FOGO

WIAR Workplace of the Year – sponsored by BINGO Industries

SMEC Australia Pty Ltd
Resource Hub
REMONDIS Wollongong

Woman of Waste – sponsored by Re.Group

Leah Maxwell – Adelaide Hills Region Waste Management Authority
Anne Prince – APC Waste Consultants
Ros Dent – BINGO Industries
Jelena Hercegovac – Repurpose It
Anhely Millan – Sustainability for Kids

Young Professional of the Year – sponsored by REMONDIS Australia

Danielle Prentice – Hume City Council
Caitlin Norrie – Brisbane City Council
Max Flynn – SMEC
Shiloh Ainuu – BINGO Industries

Send this to a friend