Waste levy waived for NSW storm-damaged communities

A residents clears up storm-damaged waste
The NSW Government is excusing residents and businesses in 34 storm-affected areas from paying the waste levy fee to help the clean-up process.

The waste levy waiver will run until 30 June and applies strictly to storm-damaged goods and waste. However, private operator and council waste facility gate fees might still apply. The exemption is designed to ease some of the pressure on affected communities in sorting out their homes and businesses.

“We understand this waste was created from a natural event and was beyond the control of affected residents and businesses. We hope this eases some of the pressure people are feeling after this devastating storm,” said NSW Environment Minister Mark Speakman announcing the measure.

“Waiving the government fee will help people dispose water damaged bulk goods such as carpets and furniture as well as other flood and storm generated waste quickly and responsibly.”

The Sydney metropolitan levy-free facilities are:

  • Kimbriki Resource Recovery Centre – Kimbriki Road, Terrey Hills
  • Elizabeth Drive Landfill Facility – Elizabeth Drive, Kemps Creek
  • Lucas Heights Resource Recovery Park – New Illawarra Road, Lucas Heights, and
  • Eastern Creek Waste Management Centre – Wallgrove Road, Eastern Creek.

EPA NSW has full details of exemptions from the waste levy on its website.

Previous ArticleNext Article